Music, News

Bob Balch (Fu Manchu) & Howling Giant cover BOCs “Godzilla” for tribute album

BOC tribute cover

Ripple Music presents the first track from the ambitious Döminance and Submissiön: A Tribute to Blue Öyster Cult all-star tribute album, to be issued on January 14th, 2022.

Founded in 1967, Blue Öyster Cult are considered pioneers of occult rock’n’roll, marking generations with timeless anthems such as “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper”, “Burnin’ for You”, “Cities on Flame with Rock and Roll” or “Godzilla”. The New York outfit has since then remained a reference act of the 70s rock scene alongside MC5, The Stooges, or Steppenwolf.

This ambitious tribute album was initiated by Poison Idea’s departed drummer Steve Hanford aka Thee Slayer Hippy, in conjunction with Ian Watts of Ape Machine. Dominance and Submission highlights some of the finest work from the legendary band, with unique contributions from Mondo Generator, Mos Generator, Great Electric Quest, War Cloud, Ape Machine, Zeke, Year Of The Cobra, Fetish, Spindrift, IT, Howling Giant, members of High On Fire, Quasi, Holy Grove, Fu Manchu, Witch Mountain, Wild Eyes, as well as Mark Lanegan and Billy Anderson, and artwork by Dave Snider.

Listen to “Godzilla” by Howling Giant and Bob Balch on Brooklyn Vegan.

Howling Giant says:
“We started covering this song on our first few tours and decided to record it a couple of years back for a limited picture disc release. When I got in touch with Ian Watts about this compilation, he had the idea to get Bob Balch involved. It was absolutely amazing to hear the dude behind one of the greatest “Godzilla” covers rip a solo on our track.”

Dominance and Submission: A Tribute to Blue Oÿster Cult will be released in a special edition 2xLP with D-side etching in a gatefold jacket (limited colored edition and classic black edition), as well as on CD and digital. All proceeds will go to Steve Hanford’s widowed partner, Kitty Diggins.

Pre-order from Ripple Music Bandcamp.

Side 1:
1) “ME 262” – Mondo Machine
2) “Flaming Telepaths” – Great Electric Quest
3) “Dominance and Submission” – Cosmo-Daemonic Telegraph Company featuring Mark Lanegan, Nick Oliveri and Sam Coomes
4) “Godzilla” – Howling Giant featuring Bob Balch

Side 2:
1) “Transmaniacon MC” – Tony Reed (Mos Generator) with Thee Slayer Hippy
2) “Wings Wetted Down” – IT featuring Andrea Vidal
3) “Tattoo Vampire” – Mondo Generator with Thee Slayer Hippy
4) “Veteran of the Psychic Wars” – Ape Machine
5) “Cities on Flame with Rock and Roll” – Zeke

Side 3:
1) “Stairway to the Stars” – War Cloud featuring Janiece Gonzalez
2) “Fireworks” – Year of the Cobra with Thee Slayer Hippy
3) “7 Screaming Diz-Busters” – Fetish
4) “(Don’t Fear) The Reaper” – Spindrift

As Poison Idea’s drummer and producer, Hanford lived the hard road of the rock veteran. He played on two highly influential hardcore records: ‘War All The Time’ and ‘Feel The Darkness,’ and worked as a producer on indie rock projects such as Heatmiser (with Elliot Smith) and punk albums for notable names like The Hard-Ons. Following struggles with addiction and a seven-year prison sentence, he turned his life around, starting work in a music program and playing drums first in The Skull and then joining Ape Machine as drummer and producer. While on the road with Ape Machine, Steve decided to produce a tribute record to one of his favorite bands, Blue Öyster Cult.

Hanford was an accomplished and respected musician, able to round up a star-studded cast of bands for the tribute. Passing away in May of 2020, he didn’t see the project’s completion, but he completed most of the recordings, leaving Watts to gather the final pieces.

Blackout Coffee – Save 10% off your first order. Use code KENK10. Shop now >

Share This

Published by Ken Kopija

I'm a very tired, black coffee drinking curmudgeon who has been collecting records and cassettes for over forty five years. I primarily listen to rock, metal, 80s alternative and jazz.